The Seven Chakras for Beginners

The Seven Chakras - East of Alta

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel.  These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine.  Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth. 

Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed.  Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

There are seven chakras, each associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head.  Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.  

The seven chakras are: 

1. Muladhara - The Root/Base Chakra located at the base of the spine

2. Svadhisthana - The Sacral Chakra located midway between the navel and the base of the spine

3. Manipura - The Solar Plexus Chakra located at the navel

4. Anahata - The Heart Chakra located in the center of the chest

5. Visshudha - The Throat Chakra located at the throat

6. Ajna - The Third Eye Chakra located between the eyebrows

7. Sahasrara - The Crown Chakra located at the crown/top of head

Each of the chakras has a function that serves your spiritual growth and often times aids in pointing out why certain physical ailments may be experienced.

The Seven Chakras - East of Alta

The Root/Base Chakra is the foundation of our security and how we relate to the physical world. Its health and vitality affects all the other chakras. When it is balanced you experience joy, self-discipline, and hope. When it is not balanced, you feel hopeless, discouraged, and out of control.

The Sacral Chakra is our point of creativity and contact with our soul- that inner guidance that we often describe as “a gut feeling”. When it is balanced we feel free, creative, merciful, and tuned into that inner-knowing. When it is not balanced we are intolerable, cruel, and find it difficult to forgive. 

The Solar Plexus is the center of our personal power and inner peace. When it is balanced we feel balanced and harmonious - secure in our abilities with proper intention. When it is not balanced we can feel egocentric, angry, aggressive, and fearful.

The Heart Chakra unites our earthly chakras (1, 2, and 3) with our heavenly/divine chakras (5, 6, and 7). It’s the center of purity, love, and compassion, for others and for ourselves. When it is balanced we experience beauty, gratitude, and selflessness. When it is not balanced we tend to feel self-pity, selfishness, hatred, and dislike.

The Throat Chakra is our personal truth and the power to create with our words. When it is balanced we feel courageous, powerful, and exercise free will. When it is not balanced we gossip and feel doubtful.

The Third Eye Chakra is the center of our Higher Self- the all-knowing, insightful inner-vision each of us possesses. When it is balanced we experience clarity, focus, abundance, and wholeness. When it is not balanced we lack vision and clarity and feel spiritually bankrupt. 

The Crown Chakra is where we receive wisdom and enlightenment; our center of unity with all that is. When it is balanced we are open-minded, humble, wise, and understanding. When it is not balanced you may experience vanity, narrow-mindedness, ignorance, and intellectual and spiritual pride.

Through the movements and postures of yoga, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body.  This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of sync with the rest of your body or not active at all. 

By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, whole personal balance can be achieved.  This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy.  In its dormant state, it can be visualized as a coiled-up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara Root Chakra.  Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional well being.

[Interested in words with the power to get you what you want? Check out our article on Chakra Affirmations by clicking here.]

[Before you leave, don't forget to check our store East of Alta Apparel Company for amazing tees, tanks, leggings, mugs, stickers, and more.]